Pizza Pockets

This is my first recipe!!!

Well, it’s not really a recipe and it was done on the fly with what I had in the kitchen because it was “Weekly Lunch Prep Day” (Sunday) and since Suga Booga has been completely blowing my mind with trying new things to eat other than peanut butter and jelly, chicken fingers and French fries, or fruit…I decided to be give her something different and gauge her response.

I had two cans of crescent rolls, marinara, mozzarella, and turkey pepperoni so these turned into pizza pockets.  Now here’s the disclaimer:  crescent rolls aren’t the best for this but it did what I needed to do.  There is a recipe for it on Pillsbury In the future, if time allows, I will use homemade dough for a crispier, firmer pocket but both That Guy and Suga Booga loved them.

First here are the ingredients I used:

IMG_4953

 

I started by rolling out the crescent rolls on a parchment paper covered baking sheet then pressed them together to “seal” the cuts:

IMG_4956

After that I layered the sauce, cheese, and pepperoni.

IMG_4963

Once that was done, I went ahead and folded them closed, pinching the sides with a fork to seal the toppings inside and brushed them with olive oil. (Will give a crispier crust when using real dough)

IMG_4967

Then baked for 20 minutes to make sure the dough was done and to hopefully give it a crispier, firmer texture.

IMG_4980

Once they were fully cooled, they were a lot firmer than expected but once it was popped in the microwave for a minute, it softened back up.  Again, That Guy and Suga Booga loved them so I will definitely tweak this recipe for more of a calzone look and it is now in our regular lunch rotation.

One thought on “Pizza Pockets

Leave a Reply

