Finding Food Balance

Hello, I am Roberta and I’m a junkie.  A carb-sugar-candy junkie.  I love candy, chocolate covered anything, cookies, cakes, ice cream, brownies, pies.  I think you guys get the picture, plus I’m drooling and that’s not a good look.

Now as a self-diagnosed junkie, I know that in order to #1: not go insane from carb withdrawals and #2: continue to lose weight, I have to find a food balance in my life.  I have to know that it’s okay to eat these things but in moderation and moderation doesn’t mean eating half a dozen of cookies but instead, just 1 or 2.  Not to say that I don’t have bad days or even a bad run of days but I don’t rationalize my transgressions with carbs.  Instead I try to figure out what triggered it, correct myself, and start the next day off better.  Sometimes it’s stress, sometimes it’s the hectic day, sometimes it’s that evil, evil broad that takes over my body once a month who wants nothing but Hot Tamales, chocolate covered peanuts, and Coke Zero infused chocolate chip cookies over French vanilla ice cream and sprinkled with the cinnamon sugar bears candy from Target.  Regardless of the cause, it’s about finding that balance and correct myself.

I do realize that when I work out in the mornings, whether it’s going to the gym for weight work, running outdoors, or cursing at Jillian Michaels via her 30 Day Shred DVD, I eat better and have zero cravings for the junk but not every morning is a happy morning and sometimes I just want to sleep in until 5:30am versus 4:45 am.  Those days are tough because I am usually tired and cranky because I didn’t work out.  It’s crazy.

Alright so getting back to “Finding Food Balance”…the balance that I have found has spilled over into our dinners and lunches even though That Guy and Suga Booga aren’t necessarily deep in the carb addiction as I am, cutting carbs where I can isn’t going to kill them.  It’ll make them stronger, right?  (He’s probably going to disagree with this statement but what is he going to do?  Not eat my delicious dinners???  I think not…if he knows what’s good for him…)

Our dinner menus, before Suga Booga started trying new things, were really based around our (okay, my) nutritional needs.  Fish, turkey, chicken…That Guy doesn’t eat beef or pork and even though I do eat beef, I don’t cook it too often because it’s just me.

I’m rambling…here are our planned dinners for the week with recipes and pictures to follow:

Sunday:  Grilled BBQ chicken and veggie packets  (weather permitting)

Monday:  Turkey meatloaf with mashed potatoes and corn (because Mondays are usually tough and require comfort food and carbs)

Tuesday:  Baked salmon and veggie packets

Wednesday:  Chicken tacos with chips and salsa

Thursday:  Meatballs and pasta

Friday:  Breakfast for Dinner!!  Pancakes with turkey bacon and eggs

Saturday:  Mommy’s dinner date with Suga Booga

Now I’m off to Sam’s Club, Publix, and the jeweler to pick up my diamond anniversary band from being repaired.  Am I the only person out there who’s left ring finger seems to magically find every hard surface to hit?  I’m not even kidding.  This is my second ring because I lost the entire princess cut diamond from my original engagement ring during a trip to Costco and I’ve had diamonds replaced in this band three times!  Maybe I should just get a tattoo instead but something cute, not tacky because diamonds obviously aren’t this girl’s best friend…

One thought on “Finding Food Balance

  1. Pingback: Creme De Menthe Brownies | Meanwhile Over At Our Place...

Leave a Reply

