Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Recently I stopped being cheap and bought an upgraded ice cream maker.  I’d been eyeing a Cuisinart for forever but never pulled the trigger because I was being cheap and instead went with a Hamilton Beach knockoff.  Yep, me…cheap and a knockoff.  Those aren’t usually words used to describe me.  I love to shop and I love, love, love a sale/deal/clearance but I’ve never been cheap per se.  Just not into paying retail.  Anyway, so I went to TJ Maxx and saw that they had the one I’d been eyeing for $59!  Who wouldn’t have jumped on that deal, right?  It was in my cart and then I thought…I could probably get the previous model for 40 something dollars on Amazon and put it back.  Fast forward a few months later, right before my birthday and BAM!  there it was and was on clearance for $30!  I had to pick it up and yes it is bright orange but it does it’s thing and here is my first official batch from the new machine.

Ingredients:

1 cup of peanut butter.  (We used Jif)

2/3 cup of sugar (we used real sugar)

1 cup of milk (we used 1%)

2 cups of heavy whipping cream

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Peanut butter and chocolate chips are optional (but absolutely required in our home!)

I started by whipping the peanut butter and sugar in the good old Kitchen Aid stand mixer until they were creamed together.  Once they were, we added the  milk first, let it mix well then added the heavy whipping cream.  Last in was the vanilla extract and we whipped it in the mixer until it started to foam before we put it in the deep freezer for 25 minutes.

Because we used 1% milk instead of whole milk, our ice cream came out firmer and was ready to eat, now if you use full fat, it will come out like soft serve.  If your liquids have a lower fat content, the more like ice milk it will be but ours wasn’t because we used full fat heavy whipping cream.  Make sense?  I’m doing that rambling thing again.  I noticed that when I was making it with the knockoff and using almond milk, it was a little less like ice milk because almonds are chocked full of good fats but the consistency was not like ice cream.

You don’t have to have an ice cream maker in order to make ice cream.  You can do it with Ziplocs, ice, salt, and water.  Google it or look for it on Pinterest.

IMG_5086 IMG_5108 IMG_5112 IMG_5113 IMG_5114 IMG_5137 IMG_5156 IMG_5157 IMG_5158

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

