Pan Seared Salmon

Last night’s dinner was pan seared, wild caught, sockeye salmon from Target’s frozen food section with our veggie packets.  I found those bad boys on clearance for $7!  I only bought two packages (they are three 5 oz fillets per package) because I didn’t want to waste the money if they weren’t that good but I will be returning for more of them and hopefully they have been marked down further.  Do you guys know how to check Target’s clearance tags for the length of time that they’ve been on clearance?  No?  That’ll have to be another post for another day because this one is about salmon.  😉

Ingredients:

salmon (of your choosing)

honey

ginger powder

garlic powder

After thawing the salmon, I washed them and let them air dry for a few minutes before I sprinkled them with garlic first, followed by the ginger, then drizzled the honey on top of that and used a basting brush to coat them.  While I was doing that, I let the olive oil get sizzling hot then put them in skin down before I put the veggie packets in the oven.  Here’s a tip:  Don’t cover your fish!!!  I know you’re going to want to cover it to keep the smell in because salmon has a strong, strong fishy scent but don’t.  You’ll ruin the crispy skin.  Instead, let the skin crisp up then turn down the heat.  I went from an 8 for a minute, all the way down to 2 and let the fish cook itself.  Once the salmon was cooked three-quarters of the way through, I flipped them so that the honey could caramelize for the remainder of the cooking time.

IMG_5289 IMG_5291 IMG_5300 IMG_5302

Leave a Reply

