Peanut Butter Double Chocolate Cookies

I wasn’t planning on baking today.  My plan was to get Suga Booga from daycare, stop at the pharmacy, and come home to relax because I was exhausted but…this happened. Peanut butter cookies with chocolate chips and topped with chocolate sauce so I figured that I should blog about it because that’s what good bloggers do, right?  Right?!

Peanut butter is an absolute food group in our house and it’s all That Guy’s fault.  When I was pregnant with Suga Booga, I told him that some doctors recommend/believe pregnant women should avoid foods that are potential allergens, like peanut butter.  He gave me the craziest, most wild-eyed look I’d ever seen then said, “If this baby is allergic to peanut butter then she must be the mailman’s kid.”  I looked at him and laughed.  The person that delivered our mail at the time was a woman in her mid-forties and her back up was a man in his 60’s.  Needless to say, she’s his and peanut butter continues to be enjoyed in our home.

Here’s a disclaimer for this and future recipes:  I am not your mother nor am I Chef Ramsay (even though I lurve him).  I don’t have strict rules about ingredients and measurements.  I go by how I feel and what I know but I will try to give more accurate measurements for you all.  That said, please ad lib and make this your own…just link a sista.  Deal?  Good.

For Cookies:

1 cup peanut butter (our family fave Jif)

1 stick of butter (softened, not melted)

1 1/2 cups of flour

1 egg

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

few dashes of salt (like 1/8 a teaspoon or so)

About a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees

Mix your peanut butter with your softened butter until well blended and creamy.  Add the granulated and brown sugars to the bowl followed by the egg and vanilla extract.  Mix until all the ingredients are blended then add your dry ingredients slowly until the dough starts to crumble then add your chocolate chips.  Once everything is mixed, you will roll the dough into balls and place them a couple of inches apart on a cookie sheet.  (I line mine with parchment–no sticking, even baking, and easy clean up!)

Once they are all rolled out, take the back of a spoon and create a little dip in the cookies for two reason–to flatten the bottom of your cookie and to create a cavern to hold the chocolate sauce.

Bake for 15 minutes then remove from the oven, recreate the cavern with the back of the spoon then let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet for an additional 15 minutes, while you make the chocolate sauce.

For sauce:

1/3 cup cocoa powder

Powdered Sugar (to taste)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Water for thinning

Add your powdered sugar to start, probably about 1/4 cup to begin followed by the vanilla then the cocoa powder with a little water to thin.  Turn your burner between the 4 and 6 (because there are no odd numbers on the stove) and stir with a whisk until it is your desired consistency.  Pour over your cooled cookies, focusing on the cute little cavern you created then let the chocolate set…if you can wait…then enjoy with a glass of milk or vanilla ice cream or alone because sometimes cookies need me time…

IMG_5563 IMG_5568 IMG_5570 IMG_5573 IMG_5579 IMG_5580 IMG_5581 IMG_5582 IMG_5583 IMG_5584 IMG_5589 IMG_5590 IMG_5594 IMG_5601 IMG_5608 IMG_5615 IMG_5616 IMG_5631 IMG_5656

Leave a Reply

