Creme De Menthe Brownies

I’ve been wanting to make brownies for a while but I wanted to make sure that I had fresh, homemade vanilla ice cream to go with it.  Then I went to World Market on my lunch break and this happened.  Creme De Menthe Brownies.  The Andies Creme De Menthe chips were on clearance!  How could I pass that up??  I let Suga Booga try a little square and she said “Mommy!  It tastes like peppermint in my cake!”  She doesn’t know the difference between cakes and brownies but I am definitely taking these to work on Monday…if they survive the weekend.  I can’t have them here.  Remember that post about “Finding Balance“???  Yeah, these throw my food balance waaay off and are products of evil designed to throw me off my game but then…what would that make me?  Don’t answer that.  Here’s your recipe.

Ingredients:

1 cup flour

2 cups sugar

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate

1 ounce espresso

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups (1 bag) Andes Creme De Menthe chips

13 x 9 baking dish

Instructions:

Preheat your oven to 350.  (no convection)

Start by putting your chocolate and 1 stick of butter in a small saucepan.  Melt on medium until both are semisolid then remove from the heat.  Stir until both are completely melted and combined.  Set aside and put the 2nd stick of butter in your mixer bowl with the sugar and vanilla.  Whip until all three are well incorporated and have a light tan color.  Add your eggs by one, making sure each one is incorporated before you add the next.  After that you will add each of the remaining ingredients, leaving your Andes chips for last.

Now I prefer to use parchment paper in all of my baking for two reasons:  Easy clean up and there’s no need to add additional oil/butter/flour to your recipes.  I can remember when my mom would make cakes, there would be flour all of the edges and I thought it detracted from the deliciousness of the cake and the beauty of it.  My mom makes the most awesome caramel cakes.  I would lurve, lurve, lurve to post it here but I’m not stupid.  That’s her thing…not mine.

Okay, sorry.  Got distracted.  Pour your batter into your parchment lined or oiled dish.  Making sure to evenly spread your batter because it will be thick.  Bake for 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the very middle comes out clean.  Then allow to cool in the pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes before you transfer them to a line wire rack, if you didn’t use parchment paper.

Enjoy!!

Oh, how do you like this picture?  I’m trying to improve my food photography/styling and was face down, bottom up on the family room floor in front of the ceiling to floor sliding glass doors trying to get a good shot while the sun was blocked by black rain clouds.  🙂

Creme De Menthe Brownies

Leave a Reply

